Announcements and Reminders

OR 

A Tale of Slush Piles, Busy Schedules,
and Kicking Off the Contest!
 

Hi, guys! 

I have some announcements as well as reminders about the April Fools’ Query Contest, so perk up your ears, my lovelies!

For our first order of business, I’d like to announce that I’ve been accepted as a slush reader for Every Day Fiction online magazine! *confetti* Every Day Fiction accepts short stories of 1,000 words or less and they publish daily. I’ve seen some really talented writers featured there, and I am so happy to have a chance to work with the EDF team! I can’t wait to dig into the slush pile, get my hands dirty, and pull some prime writing to the top! As some of you may know, it’s my career goal to become a literary agent. I am crossing my fingers that this experience will open some doors.

And that leads me into my next topic: due to my completely slammed schedule, I will unfortunately no longer be able to offer book reviews. However, I will still be critiquing queries and posting the occasional blog. My next review, Memento Mori, will be my last one. It should be up sometime after AFQC ends.

And finally, without further ado, I am going to kick off our contest a bit early!

This is because I will be at work all day tomorrow and want these authors to get as much feedback as possible. So, please, followers, non-followers, entrants and non-entrants, vote on these entries. Everyone is invited to vote and in-depth comments are not necessary, though they are appreciated.

Let me remind everyone of the rules and procedures. 

There will be ten entrants. Each entrant is required to vote on the other 9 entries. When you vote, entrants, please include your entry number. The voting guideline will be as follows:

Query:

Query is 250-300 Words: X/10
Hook: X/10

Plot is Easily Understandable (MC, Goal, Conflict): X/10
Amount of Characters Listed: X/10
Showing vs. Telling (Doesn’t Read like a Synopsis): X/10
Stakes Clearly Listed: X/10
Overall: X/10 

First 250:

First Line: X/10
Voice: X/10
Originality: X/10
Character Development: X/10
Setting/World Building: X/10
Overall: X/10

Voters, please elaborate on any high scores, low scores, or other issues you think should be brought to the attention of the entrant. Be honest but tactful. Entrants, criticism hurts, but if you don’t have anything nice to say don’t say anything at all. Also, it isn’t appropriate to reply to a voter’s comments unless you are simply saying thank you—please don’t try to explain your query or the first 250 words of your manuscript. 

Voting will end this Sunday. I will tally the votes the following day using the average to decide the winner, who will be announced Tuesday.

The prize is an interview with the winner, as well as a free critique/edit of their first three chapters!

Please let me know if any of the details need clarification or if I’ve forgotten anything.

OH! I almost forgot! I also have a Facebook page now. Check it out here: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Query-Faerie/1570450153179469

Thanks for reading, y’all.

Happy voting!

Love,

The Query Faerie

Leave a Reply

