SUMMONED by Rainy Kaye Review

Or 

A Tale of Folklore, Not-So-Magic Genies, Modern Day
Slavery, and a Murderer Who’s Not So Great at Murdering  

Blurb:

Twenty-three year old Dimitri has to do what he is told—literally. Controlled by a paranormal bond, he is forced to use his wits to fulfill unlimited deadly wishes made by multimillionaire Karl Walker.

Dimitri has no idea how his family line became trapped in the genie bond. He just knows resisting has never ended well. When he meets Syd—assertive, sexy, intelligent Syd—he becomes determined to make her his own. Except Karl has ensured Dimitri can’t tell anyone about the bond, and Syd isn’t the type to tolerate secrets.

Then Karl starts sending him away on back-to-back wishes. Unable to balance love and lies, Dimitri sets out to uncover Karl’s ultimate plan and put it to an end. But doing so forces him to confront the one wish he never saw coming—the wish that will destroy him.

A dark twist on the genie folklore, SUMMONED follows a reluctant criminal as he unravels the mystery of the paranormal bond controlling him.

My Rating: 3 Stars

EDIT: I learned something new today guys. Turns out that ARCs aren’t as polished as they can be sometimes. I was under the impression that ARCs are the step below a finished product, which isn’t true in some cases. Ya learn something new everyday, right? I apologize to Rainy Kaye for pointing out typos that may or may not have been fixed.

I found some parts in the first half to be repetitive. When Dimitri is sent on a wish, a hum fills his head and won’t disappear until he fulfills the wish. From page twenty-five to page one-hundred, the “hum” is mentioned practically every single page, sometimes up to three or four times per page. When he is wished to kill someone, he also repetitively talks about killing the guy in the same way. Okay, I get it already.

At times Dimitri’s voice felt forced, as though he were an adult trying to think of things a younger person might say.

At the half-way mark I started to become impatient and really needed the pace to be picked up. Finally, finally, three-quarters in there was some action that kept me on the edge of my seat. The ending was great, the twist was unexpected, and, honestly, that’s what saved this book for me. This was definitely an interesting take on the Djinn and I just wish I had seen more edge-of-my-seat action throughout the whole novel. All the missions seemed to drag on and on, though in the end they finally made sense as the plot culminated.

One of my pet peeves is the never-ending references to pop culture used to describe a character or action. To me it’s a cheap and lazy way to describe a person or place. As opposed to coming up with unique prose and metaphors for description, we have to rely on pre-formed images from media and history. Those referenced include, but are not limited to: Frogger, Hello Kitty, Mario, Terminator, George Oosthoek, Elmer Fudd, Lara Croft, Lizzie Borden, King Kong, Cruella Deville, Emeril Lagasse, Elizabeth Bathory, and many more. My other issue with this is that it dates the novel. A person born in 2014 will pick up Summoned in twenty years and go, “Who the hell are all these people? What the hell is Frogger?!”

In summary, I’ll give it three stars. This book is my cup of tea. Urban fantasy is what I’m all about. Though the premise is interesting, the slow pace killed it for me.

Buy this book here: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20624580-summoned

Love, 

The Query Faerie

One thought on “SUMMONED by Rainy Kaye Review

  1. I felt the same about this one, although I even ended up giving it 2 stars. Nice idea, but it just didn’t work for me. I thought it was quite boring and repetitive. I also didn’t like the big amount of references to pop culture, if a book has a few of those that are nessecary for understand the plot, okay, but this book indeed had a quite a lot of them. Also I just don’t see the sense of including them, often you can just call the product by it’s name instead of the brand.

Leave a Reply

