THE GIRL WITH NO NAME by Iscah Review

OR

A Tale of Sorcery, Shape Shifting,
Medicines, and a Magical Nameless Girl

  

Banished from her village, a young shape shifter sets out on a journey to find her place in the world…

The first of four “Before the Fairytale” stories, “The Girl With No Name” is told in a deceptively simple storybook style with the flavor of an original Grimm’s fable, but don’t expect your typical once upon a time scenario. This is a coming of age tale humorously interwoven with social commentary.

This story is recommended for older children to adult readers (9 & up) but may not be suitable for younger children.

  

My Rating: 4 Stars 

I really enjoyed this. 

I loved the Girl’s character. I was able to connect with her immediately. She is witty and sharp, and the farthest thing from a damsel in distress, which really drew me into her character. Throughout the whole story she lacks a name, which I originally thought may cause some confusion, but it was never a problem for me. 

The story was full of magic, and though the writing was simple and easily understood, there was some nice prose throughout. The dialogue was great, and I particularly enjoyed the Girl and Leifhound’s banter. There were some places that seemed either heavy in dialogue or heavy in description—I wanted to see some action between all the talk to break it up and give me a better sense of the setting. 

There were places where the writing could have been tightened, and I found some repetitiveness. Toward the end I saw “shade shades”. I also saw some places where a word was left out: “One the men.” I didn’t take too much notice of those spots. Such mistakes are easy to make and easy to fix. 

This was a short read, so I apologize for not having more to say about it. 

I highly recommend this story for MG readers. I think it’s an interesting inspirational tale with a strong female lead. 

Buy your copy here: http://www.amazon.com/Before-Fairytale-Girl-Seventh-Night-ebook/dp/B00D3RI4PK/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1393429334&sr=1-1&keywords=9780983551911 

Thanks for reading!

 

Love, 

The Query Faerie

Leave a Reply

