SEVENTH NIGHT by Iscah Review

OR 

A Tale of Unicorns, Sea Monsters, Shapeshifters,

Sorcerers, and a Girl Named Seventh Night

 

A pragmatic princess is engaged to an impossibly perfect prince. When their lives are threatened, the magician’s outspoken apprentice leads them to seek help from a nameless sorceress.

But as this fairytale of monsters and magic unravels, love grows in inconvenient places, and the royal couple must choose between their hearts and their kingdoms.

 

My Rating: 3.75 

I really enjoyed the first couple of pages—I thought the opening was great. There was an email listed at the end for any typos that might be found throughout the novel, which I thought was a great idea. 

The novel was written in 3rd person omniscient, which was fine in the beginning. But as more characters were introduced I found myself wishing the story was more centered on one person’s point of view as opposed to getting into everyone’s head. And, strangely enough, I thought the story belonged to Andomare, not Seventh Night. She was the character I found most interesting and dimensional. Her romance with Neithan (though mostly unexplored) was cute and believable. They were always pestering each other, which translated as flirting to me. I really loved her character. 

I found Seventh Night to be a bit more flat. I had that concern with many characters…some came off as half-baked while others were very interesting. I loved Phillip’s character as well as Vyn and Yalan. There was something missing from the antagonist, and it almost seemed like he was bad just for the sake of being bad. 

Here’s one of my favorite scenes (paraphrased). Seventh Night tells Vyn and Yalan her name is Seven, and Vyn says, “Seven, what a beautiful name.” Her husband, Yalan, says, “It’s a number, Vyn.” Then Vyn says, “Well, she could have been named five.” There were many similar scenes that made me giggle. Another one is when the shapeshifting sorceress, Andomare, tells everyone she spent a week as a sack of flour. Ha! I enjoyed the subtle humorous tones. I just wish that had translated to all the characters.

I found Phillip and Seventh Night’s relationship to be anti-climactic and the romance was unbelievable. There were debates between them which I enjoyed, but there was no banter or chemistry. When Phillip randomly tells Seven, “I love you, you know,” I was very taken aback. They didn’t seem to be in love at all. 

Phillip is described as a magician, however he doesn’t ever really do magic and his training as a magician’s apprentice never really happens. Also there were elements of the story that I wanted to see played up. Like, at the very end a prophecy is mentioned that states a woman from the sea will destroy the bad guy. I wish that idea had been introduced sooner instead of seeming like it was just thrown into the mix because it fit the moment. 

And then strange things happened, like the group is in a rush to save the kidnapped princess, yet they stop and take the time to pull trapped people out of enchanted portraits. It killed the sense of impending doom and danger.

Though I can definitely tell Kay is a talented writer, the plot seemed to be haphazardly thrown together. If the plot had been handled with more care and the romance more believable, I would have enjoyed the story more. I did think the ending was very fitting, though. 

Overall it’s definitely an interesting read! I enjoyed it. Now I am off to read the prequel. 

Buy it here: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18777181-seventh-night

 

Love,

The Query Faerie 

Leave a Reply

